The Hub is now a unique and flexible venue, yet it also holds its place within the architectural fabric of Edinburgh and is a historic, category A listed building. The Hub’s spire is the highest point in central Edinburgh.
Built between 1842 and 1845, as the Victoria Hall, to house the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland, the building was created by architects: James Gillespie Graham and Augustus Welby Pugin. Curiously the building was never consecrated as a Church. In 1929 the Church of Scotland ceased to use the building and it became a temporary home for a variety of congregations. It was named the Highland Tolbooth St John’s Church in 1956, before falling into disuse in the 1980s.
The Hub Today
In 1999, the building underwent a transformation to create offices and a performance space for the Edinburgh International Festival. The building is a stunning combination of award winning contemporary design and classic Victorian architecture.
As well as accommodating various events during the International Festival each year, The Hub offers a truly unique and spectacular space available to hire for creating conferences, banquets or gala dinners, weddings, meetings and exhibitions.
Contact us here.